BTS Skytrain and MRT Bangkok Metro closes more stations and skywalks following announcement of pro-democracy rally sites around Bangkok

PHOTO: Prachathai

Bangkok –

Public transportation in Bangkok, namely BTS Skytrain and MRT Bangkok Metro, has announced more closures at several stations this afternoon following an announcement of pro-democracy rally sites around Bangkok this morning.

BTS Skytrain closed 4 stations at Chong Nonsi, Surasak, Krung Thonburi, and Wong Wian Yai, on Silom Line and 11 more stations at Bang Na, Udomsuk, Asok, Ratchatewi, Phayathai, Victory Monument, Sanam Pao, Ari, Mo Chit, Ha Yeak Ladprao, and Phahon Yothin 24 on the Sukhumvit Line.

PHOTO: BTS Skytrain

MRT Bangkok Metro closed 5 stations at Hua Lumphong, Lumphini, Sukhumvit, Phahon Yothin, Chatuchak Park on the Blue Line while all stations on the Purple line are still in operation.

BTS/MRT Skywalks at Ha Yeak Ladprao-Phahon Yothin and Asok-Sukhumvit stations are also closed.

It is believed that the capital protests this evening will be mainly arranged at Terminal21 at BTS Asoke Station and MRT Tha Pra of Blue Line station from 4:00 PM onwards.


Don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter and get all our news delivered to you in one spam-free daily e-mail Click here!

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google News, Instagram, Tiktok, Youtube, Pinterest, Parler, Flipboard or Tumblr

Join the discussion in our Facebook group in the comments below.

Nop Meechukhun
National News Writer at The Pattaya News from September 2020 to October 2022. Born and raised in Bangkok, Nop enjoys telling stories of her hometown through her words and pictures. Her educational experience in the United States and her passion for journalism have shaped her genuine interests in society, politics, education, culture, and art.